





2014 URSI-Japan Radio Science Meeting (URSI-JRSM 2014)

Date and Time: 9:00-18:30, Monday, September 8, 2014 (registration will start at 8:00) Venue:Room 5534, 5th Floor, Building No. 5, Korakuen Campus, Chuo University (Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo, Japan)

Program

9:00 Opening Ceremony

MC: Yoshiharu Omura (Chair, URSI-JRSM 2014 Technical Program Committee)

Opening Address:

Kazuya Kobayashi (URSI-JRSM 2014 General Chair; President, Japan National Committee of URSI; Vice-Chair, URSI Commission B)

Yasushi Ishii (Dean, Faculty of Science and Engineering, Chuo University, Japan) Lou-Chuang Lee (President, China (SRS) National Committee of URSI)

9:15 Keynote Lecture 1

Chair: Hiroshi Shirai (Commission B Chair, Japan National Committee of URSI) Debatosh Guha (University of Calcutta, India) New Techniques Leading to Advanced Designs of New Generation Antennas

10:00 Invited Talk 1

Chair: Yasuhiko Jimbo (Commission K Chair, Japan National Committee of URSI) Masao Taki (Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan) Possible Health Risk of Electromagnetic Fields: Status Quo and the Way Forward

Coffee Break (15 minutes)

10:45 Invited Talk 2

Chair: Hiroshi Shirai (Commission B Chair, Japan National Committee of URSI) Hisamatsu Nakano (Hosei University, Japan) Natural and Metamaterial-Concept Antennas

11:15 Invited Talk 3

Chair: Masahiro Morikura (Commission C Chair, Japan National Committee of URSI) Iwao Hosako (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Japan) Recent R&D Trend of Communication Technologies using Terahertz-Band

11:45 Invited Talk 4

Chair: Tadao Nagatsuma (Commission D Chair, Japan National Committee of URSI) Naoto Yoshimoto (Chitose Institute of Science and Technology, Japan) Impact on Society and Industry due to Fusion of Light and Radio Waves in Future Information Communication Technologies

12:15 URSI-Japan Commission Business Meetings (Participants can join the meeting as observers. Lunch should be arranged by themselves.)

13:45 Keynote Lecture 2

Chair: Mamoru Yamamoto (Commission G Chair, Japan National Committee of URSI) Lou-Chuang Lee (Academia Sinica, Taiwan) Ionosphere Density Variations and Generation of ULF Waves Driven by the Lithosphere and Thunderstorm Dynamos

14:30 Invited Talk 5

Chair: Masao Taki (Past Chair, URSI Commission K)

Osami Wada (Kyoto University, Japan) Evaluation and Simulation of Electromagnetic Interference to Digital Broadcasting and Communication

15:00 Invited Talk 6

Chair: Yasuyuki Maekawa (Commission F Chair, Japan National Committee of URSI) Toshio Iguchi (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Japan) Spaceborne Precipitation Radar: From TRMM to GPM

15:30 Invited Talk 7

Chair: Mamoru Yamamoto (Commission G Chair, Japan National Committee of URSI) Takashi Maruyama (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Japan) Contribution of GNSS Radio Signals to Ionospheric Research

Coffee Break (15 minutes)

16:15 Keynote Lecture 3

Chair: Masao Taki (Past Chair, URSI Commission K) Shoogo Ueno (The University of Tokyo / Kyushu University, Japan) Studying the Brain by Electromagnetics in Biology and Medicine

17:00 Invited Talk 8

Chair: Yoshiharu Omura (Commission H Chair, Japan National Committee of URSI) Yuto Katoh (Tohoku University, Japan)

Plasma Wave Emissions and Particle Acceleration in Planetary Magnetospheres

17:30 Invited Talk 9

Chair: Kenta Fujisawa (Commission J Chair, Japan National Committee of URSI) Satoru Iguchi (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan, Japan) Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array, ALMA

18:00 Invited Talk 10

Chair: Mitsuru Musha (Commission A Chair, Japan National Committee of URSI) Hidetoshi Katori (The University of Tokyo, Japan) Reading 18th Decimal Places of Time with Optical Lattice Clocks

18:30 Closing

Banquet (18:45-20:45)

MC: Yasuhiro Koyama (Chair, URSI Commission A)

Welcome Address:

Yoshiharu Omura (Chair, URSI-JRSM 2014 Technical Program Committee) Toshinari Kamakura (Director, Institute of Science and Engineering, Chuo University, Japan) Debatosh Guha (Commission B Chair, India National Committee of URSI)

Toast: Makoto Ando (URSI Vice-President)

Closing Address: Shoogo Ueno (Past Chair, URSI Commission K)